Game Log - Pokemon Yellow Professor Oak Challenge

Note: This is more or less supposed to be roleplay, so there might be some entries that don't quite reflect what I thought IRL.

05-08-2024

I caught what I could in the Pokemon Tower, and I then went out to see what other Pokemon I could find. I planned for the trip to Fuschia City, but there were a lot of things I forgot, including catching another Cubone in the Tower (I had to backtrack a lot).

By the way, I got to use the flute, and woke up some Snorlax, who got angry with me. I caught one of them.

A fisherman also gave me a Super Rod, and that let me catch a lot of water Pokemon in the places I passed by.

There was also this dangerous place called Cycling Road... There were a lot of bikers out for Pokemon battles, but thankfully I only had to fight one of them.

Out of this whole catching and fishing trip, I would say the hardest encounter was with Farfetch'd. I ran out of balls the first time I saw one (but that's because I didn't bring enough), and so I had to go back to it.

05-02-2024 (05-01-2024 video)

I might have cleared out the Team Rocket Hideout, but I'm not planning on challenging a gym yet. There was this tower that I passed by after coming out the Lavender Town end of Rock Tunnel. Heard there were ghosts, and that this thing called the Silph Scope could let me see them.

I went up the Pokemon Tower. Fought against Professor Oak's grandson, some ghost-possessed people, the spirit of a Marowak, and those Team Rocket guys with a Meowth that I've seen before in Mt. Moon and the Rocket Hideout. They sure are everywhere.

This guy called Mr. Fuji gave me something for making the place peaceful again. It's a flute that wakes up Pokemon. I wonder where I can use this?

04-24-2024

Since I've already trained my Magnemite, I thought it would be good to finally explore the basement of the Game Corner. There were a lot of Team Rocket people, and also floors that made me and my Pikachu spin and slide. I also met and battled with this guy called Giovanni, after beating those Rockets with a Meowth again.

Along the way, I found another Moon Stone, so I used it to evolve my Jigglypuff. With that, I have now evolved four Pokemon with Moon Stones.

04-17-2024

I knew Team Rocket was doing bad stuff with Pokemon in the Game Corner, but I had to put that aside to train the Magnemite I got. Rock Tunnel didn't give me any good memories, and so I took my time defeating the trainers there. That way, all I have to worry about are the wild Pokemon.

Also... It's pretty nice having another electric Pokemon, although I'm not sure if it will still be useful in the future. Then again, it's okay either way.

04-10-2024

It has been a while, but the time has come to catch and evolve more Pokemon. With the Cut HM, a lot more of the world has opened up to me.

That trek through Rock Tunnel hasn't been very friendly, that I can say... I'm glad I got to Lavender Town, which is a little creepy, and Celadon City, at least. The Pokemart in the city is very large, and the people sure are into gambling.

04-03-2024

Training Charmander and evolving it took longer than Bulbasaur, as expected, but it felt faster than the Venonat training, at least. Still couldn't have it take damage from Dig, but it got faster than the Digletts earlier than I thought.

I also battled my rival again and got the HM for Cut by helping out the captain of the S.S. Anne. Goodbye ship, and thank you for the trainer battles.

Of course, I couldn't possibly use Charizard for the Misty battle, even though it's that high level. I'd rather not risk the type disadvantage, so I got the Grass-type Pokemon and used them to battle. It was a relief to finally finish the challenge and get the ability to use Cut outside of battle. Now I can get those small trees out of the way.

03-27-2024

I only had Bulbasaur for a short time before it evolved into Ivysaur... It grew so fast. And then it was only a matter of time until it evolved into a Venusaur. The Grass typing helped with the Digletts, although it took a while to become faster than them. And I still couldn't do much against Dig because of the Poison typing.

Either way, I hope that the trainer who gave me Bulbasaur is happy now that it's a Venusaur.

03-20-2024

There's not much for me to say about this training arc of this part of the run, but I am glad that it's at least shorter than training Mankey and Pidgey. I guess I found it a little tedious, since I couldn't really use Venonat itself that much due to type disadvantage and lack of speed compared to the Digletts.

But at least I made it. After this, it will just be Bulbasaur and Charmander, and I am somewhat hopeful and nervous for the latter, because of Fire being weak to Ground.

02-28-2024

This time, I got the Diglett vs. Diglett experience.

As expected, it needed a little help at first, but later on it became more capable of fighting by itself. It got a lot easier starting from the time it learned Dig, since I could use it to go back to the Pokemon Center from wherever and it was a strong attack, although I needed to learn when to use it when the opponent also uses Dig. It is to my disadvantage if my Diglett is faster and we both do it.

The trainer battles have been easier this time, mostly because Ground-type had the advantage for most of them (there were Electric, Poison, and Fire-types).

02-21-2024

I thought Drowzee would be at least decent in strength, learning Pound, Confusion, and Headbutt, but I did not take into account that it's a little slow compared to Diglett and Dugtrio. Because of that, I needed a lot more assistance with it than I thought I would.

Also... I guess it is one of those two-stage Pokemon that are slow to level. I had an extra trainer battle in, but it did not seem to do much.

02-17-2024

I felt that this went a little slower than the Oddish training, and apparently, it is a little slower. Vine Whip seems to be stronger, but it can't heal like Absorb can. And at this point, it seems like there are only a few Pokemon that I can train right now that will become faster than Digletts and Dugtrios.

I didn't like how I couldn't take advantage of the third trainer battle because of the enemy's Hypnosis hitting pretty much everyone...

02-14-2024

Having Absorb made it a little easier for Oddish to battle Digletts, since it's not just a Grass-type move, but also recovers HP. However, it is still also a Poison-type, and it will never be above the level of a Dugtrio, so I still needed to have the birds around.

After this is Bellsprout.

02-06-2024

Abra... doesn't know anything other than Teleport, so I had to make other Pokemon fight for it. I am glad that Diglett and Dugtrio make for good experience, and Abra seems to grow pretty fast.

However, it didn't learn anything before it evolved either.

02-01-2024

Now that I have reached Cerulean City, it's time to catch some Pokemon...

I had heard that there was someone who had a Bulbasaur that needed taking care of, so I went to get it. I didn't get it at first (I don't think she thought I was worthy), so I took care of some Pokemon battles and also tried to use Potions on my Pikachu. In the end, she entrusted it to me.

It was the same with the guy who had the Charmander in Route 24. But for this one, I didn't have to do anything and he gave it to me.

I caught an Oddish, Venonat, and Bellsprout in Route 24, then went to Bill's house. He got fused with a Pokemon, and so I had to help him separate. He then gave me an SS Ticket in return.

I found that one of the houses in the city had a hole that led to a path outside, so I got to catch an Abra and Jigglypuff in Route 5. Apparently, there's a daycare here, but I don't think I'll leave my Pokemon with them. Also, there's this girl in the Underground Path entrance who wanted to give Machoke for a Cubone, but I don't think I can fulfill that now.

I ended up in Route 6, then I went down to Vermilion City, which was very orange... I got a Bike Voucher from the Pokemon Fan Club president, and then I went to Route 11 to the right and caught a Drowzee. After that, I went to Diglett Cave and caught a Diglett after some struggle.

Coming out of the other end, I ended up in Route 2. While there, I gave one of the Clefairy to someone and I got a Mr. Mime in return.

I would love to go explore the SS Anne, but I think there will be a lot of trainers there, so I'll start training up before that.

01-25-2024

Managed to evolve Geodude to Graveler, and unfortunately, I will have to leave it as such, since I cannot trade. But because I have already trained it, I could make my way out of Mt. Moon.

Well, before I could get out, I was challenged by people from Team Rocket. I won.

After making it out of the mountain caves, I made my way to Cerulean City. Everything is pretty... blue.

01-20-2024

I was expecting to have a hard time with Paras, since it was weak to a number of enemy pokemon attacks, but it seems not. I also didn't expect to have Leech Life work well on the Zubats but not as "effective" on Paras.

But with this and most of the trainers out of the way, all that's left for this part is Geodude.

01-15-2024

Zubat was challenging to train at first, because of only having Leech Life as an attack move. Thankfully, it got better when it learned Bite, and it was at a high-ish level at the start.

I didn't like how the Rattata were the most dangerous in this part, since it could easily outspeed Zubat with Quick Attack. I also didn't like that it was hard to select the attacks I need if I go too much with muscle memory.

01-12-2024

The rest of Sandshrew's Training went faster than I thought it would... It seems that it really is easier to level up pokemon now that the wild ones now give more experience.

Three more pokemon to go before I can leave Mt. Moon...

01-06-2024

I thought I was going to raise Sandshrew and Magikarp at around the same time, but it seems better to have Magikarp get most of the experience for now. I also got Nidorino and Nidorina to evolve, since I was able to get a hold of the second Moon Stone.

Next time, I will attempt to evolve Sandshrew.

12-20-2023

Went through Route 3 and reached the Mt. Moon area. On the way there, I have caught myself a Sandshrew.

There was a shady man in the Mt. Moon Pokemon Center who sold me a Magikarp for 500 Pokedollars... Now I think I might have messed up my finances a little... That's still 2 pokeballs' worth of money, after all.

Inside the Mt. Moon caves, I caught Geodude, Zubat, Paras, and Clefairy. I was informed that there was a pokemon I could trade Clefairy for later, so I caught two.

After this, I will be training pokemon again... At least, until I get to fight all the trainers near here.

12-14-2023

Got through the biggest challenge of this part of the run. Had to keep myself from fighting all the trainers too early, so that I could get through the last levels easier. It helped that I got Pidgey leveling up even before truly focusing on it. I wonder how long it would have taken if I had started from the level I caught it...?

I went straight to fighting Brock after the training. Otherwise, I wouldn't be allowed to progress into Mt. Moon. I need to get there to catch more pokemon...

12-09-2023

Did not expect this part of the pokemon training to take this long, and now I am somewhat worried about how long the Pidgey training is going to take. I am thankful, however, that Mankey had a lot of damaging attacks to choose from.

I thought it would be very difficult because it has a type disadvantage (Fighting doesn't affect Bug or Flying much), but thankfully, only one of its attacks is Fighting type. Also, I didn't remember that it had Fury Swipes, so that helped some.

After this is Pidgey. I did already start its training a while back, so it shouldn't be as long as if it started from level 3 or so.

Also, I might just update this log whenever I finish something, instead of every week...

12-02-2023

Despite it taking a while just like with Spearow, I take comfort in the fact that Rattata has more moves to choose from.

But now, I wonder, how long will it take me to raise my Mankey ahd Pidgey? I know there is a long road ahead, but I might as well press on.

11-25-2023

This time, I finished Spearow's training... I can definitely tell it is getting much harder for this part of this challenge. There were only two damaging moves Spearow could use before it evolved, and those were Peck and Fury Attack. Because of that, I had to take it to the Pokemon Center quite a number of times more.

But as I said, this is done now. All that are left before challenging Brock are Rattata, Mankey, and Pidgey.

Also... I am somewhat comforted by the fact that I actually don't have to level up stone evolution pokemon pre-stone use. My goal is to evolve them, not necessarily make them ready for combat for later areas.

11-20-2023 (11-18-2023 video)

Again, I was not able to write on time, since I had to do something else. But yes, I have gotten myself a Nidorina eventually.

It seems that the challenge from here on out is keeping myself from getting bored, going around Viridian Forest and all. But then, where else am I going to train my pokemon? And it's only going to get harder from here, starting with Spearow.

I couldn't finish Spearow's training yet. I will do so next time.

11-13-2023 (11-11-2023 video)

I was not able to write here on time, but for this, I would like to say that I have managed to evolve the male Nidoran to Nidorino. I would have evolved the female one to Nidorina as well, but I had run out of time for that.

I encountered my first wild Pidgeotto, and it was rough. Thankfully, it became easier in the next few battles, as Pikachu had grown a little stronger.

Next time, I will get that Nidorina, then I will focus on Rattata, maybe, or Spearow.

11-09-2023

Started the challenge. Professor Oak is too old to achieve his dream. Perhaps I can try, within the world of Pokemon he had shown before me.

Before anything, however, I would have to note what it would entail.

The goal is to catch and raise all the available basic pokemon up to their fully evolved forms. I cannot trade unless it's with NPCs, and I have to train and evolve whatever I catch before I proceed with the gym that comes after the area they were found.

For example, upon catching Caterpie in Viridian Forest, I would have to train it until it becomes a Butterfree before I challenge Brock.

Also, I cannot make use of any... glitches in the matrix, or so they say.

Yes, I will train them and let them grow.

Today, I received a Pikachu. Also, I caught a Pidgey when I mostly expected it to be fainted by my Pikachu. I also acquired a Rattata, a female and male Nidoran, a Mankey, a Spearow, and a Caterpie.

Decided to raise Caterpie for now, with Pidgey, Pikachu, and Mankey helping it since Pidgey and Mankey will take many more levels than the rest. With some close calls with Pikachu (those Viridian Forest Pidgey were strong), Caterpie eventually became a Metapod, then a Butterfree.

Next would be the two Nidoran, but for now, I rest.